Airalo alternatives: 4 travel eSIMs compared (Japan prices, 2026)

Airalo sells eSIMs for 200+ locations, and its Japan unlimited plan cost $26.50 for 7 days when we checked on 7 October 2026. Here are four alternatives, listed alphabetically: Holafly, Nomad, Saily and VAYO, compared on Japan prices, unlimited data, phone numbers, trials and refunds.

Last reviewed: Β· Competitor prices checked 7 October 2026 (USD) Β· VAYO prices are live Β· Published by VAYO

Disclosure: This comparison is published by VAYO, one of the products compared. VAYO is not affiliated with Airalo, Holafly, Nomad or Saily.

What is an Airalo alternative?

An Airalo alternative is another prepaid travel eSIM you install from a QR code instead of buying Airalo. They differ most on price per data size, how unlimited data slows down after a daily allowance, and extras such as free trials, phone numbers and refund rules.

Reviewed by VAYO Β· Read eSIM FAQs

What are the main Airalo alternatives?

  • Holafly: Unlimited data on every plan, with hotspot sharing of up to 1 GB a day. 7 days cost $27.50.
  • Nomad: Fixed plans from $4.00, a free 1 GB trial for new users, and unlimited data at $25.00 for 7 days. Lowest price on this page at 5 GB, 10 GB and 20 GB.
  • Saily: Unlimited plans give 5 GB a day at full speed, then up to 1 Mbps, and you can add a US phone number.
  • VAYO: Plans from $1.69 (500 MB / 7 days), buying with just an email address (no account), and a full refund within 30 days if the eSIM is not installed or activated. Lowest price on this page at 1 GB and 3 GB.

Why do people look for Airalo alternatives?

  • Price for a specific trip. Fixed-data and unlimited prices differ by provider and destination (see the table).
  • How unlimited works. Some providers slow you down after a daily high-speed allowance; others sell unlimited days with hotspot limits.
  • Extras. These include free trials, a phone number, credits back and refund rules.

Airalo alternatives at a glance

Compared
Holafly, Nomad, Saily and VAYO (alphabetical), with Airalo as the baseline.
Example trip
Japan plans, prices in USD from each provider's own Japan page.
Checked
Competitor prices on 7 October 2026; VAYO prices are live from the VAYO catalog.
Best for
Choosing a travel eSIM by data size, unlimited policy and extras.

How do the alternatives compare for Japan?

Japan eSIM plans from Airalo (baseline) and four alternatives. Competitor prices checked 7 October 2026 on each provider's own website; VAYO prices are live. Prices in USD change and may vary by location.
Japan plan Airalo Holafly Nomad Saily VAYO
1 GB (lowest price) $4.00 (3 days) Unlimited only $4.00 (7 days) $3.99 (7 days) $2.89 (7 days)
3 GB (lowest price) $7.50 (3 days) Unlimited only $7.00 (30 days) $7.99 (30 days) $6.99 (15 days)
5 GB (lowest price) $10.00 (7 days) Unlimited only $10.00 (30 days) $10.99 (30 days) $11.99 (30 days)
10 GB (lowest price) $17.00 (7 days) Unlimited only $16.00 (30 days, on sale; $18.00 regular) $17.99 (30 days) $19.99 (30 days)
20 GB (lowest price) $24.00 (15 days) Unlimited only $23.00 (30 days, on sale; $26.00 regular) $24.99 (30 days) $33.99 (30 days)
Unlimited, 7 days $26.50 $27.50 $25.00 Other lengths: 15 days $48.99, 30 days $71.99 $27.93 (7 Γ— $3.99 a day)
Unlimited, 30 days $69.00 $73.90 Other lengths: 14 days $41.00, 21 days $49.00 $71.99 $119.70 (30 Γ— $3.99 a day)
How unlimited works Full speed for the first 3 GB each day, then 1 Mbps until the next day Unlimited data on every plan; hotspot sharing up to 1 GB a day; 1 GB of monthly "Always On" backup data Daily high-speed allowance, then 512 kbps until it resets 5 GB a day at full speed, then up to 1 Mbps for the rest of the day 1 GB a day at high speed, then 256 Kbps until the next day
Phone number Not included: the Japan packages list no calls or texts Not included: data only, no local number Some Nomad eSIMs include a local number (check each plan) Optional US phone number for calls and texts Not included: data only
Notable extras App in 53 languages; 24/7 WhatsApp support; top-ups and renewals Refunds within 6 months; 1 GB monthly backup data Free 1 GB trial for new users; activate within 60 days; hotspot supported 3% back in Saily credits; hotspot; 24/7 live chat; 180-day activation period No account needed; full refund if not installed or activated, within 30 days
Japan networks listed SoftBank, KDDI KDDI, SoftBank KDDI au, SoftBank KDDI, SoftBank KDDI/au, NTT docomo, Rakuten Mobile, SoftBank
Source airalo.com/japan-esim, checked 7 October 2026 esim.holafly.com/esim-japan, checked 7 October 2026 nomadesim.com/japan-eSIM, checked 7 October 2026 saily.com/esim-japan, checked 7 October 2026 Live from the VAYO catalog

"Not listed" or "Not stated" means it does not appear on the page we checked. It does not mean the provider can't offer it.

How does each alternative compare, one by one?

Is Holafly a good Airalo alternative for unlimited data?

Every Holafly Japan plan is unlimited data: 3 days $11.90, 5 days $20.50, 7 days $27.50, 10 days $36.50, 15 days $50.50, 30 days $73.90. Hotspot sharing is limited to 1 GB a day, plans include 1 GB of monthly "Always On" backup data, and Holafly gives up to 6 months to request a refund. Networks: KDDI / SoftBank. (esim.holafly.com/esim-japan, 7 October 2026)

Is Nomad a good Airalo alternative for fixed-data plans?

Nomad Japan fixed plans: 1 GB / 7 days $4.00, 3 GB / 30 days $7.00, 5 GB / 30 days $10.00, 10 GB / 30 days $16.00 (on sale; $18.00 regular), 20 GB / 30 days $23.00 (on sale; $26.00 regular), 50 GB / 30 days $35.00. Unlimited: 3 days $11.00, 7 days $25.00, 14 days $41.00, 21 days $49.00, with a daily high-speed allowance and then 512 kbps. New users can redeem a free 1 GB trial, and plans must be activated within 60 days of purchase. (nomadesim.com/japan-eSIM, 7 October 2026)

Is Saily a good Airalo alternative for heavy daily use?

Saily Japan fixed plans: 1 GB / 7 days $3.99, 3 GB / 30 days $7.99, 5 GB / 30 days $10.99, 10 GB / 30 days $17.99, 20 GB / 30 days $24.99. Unlimited gives 5 GB a day at full speed, then up to 1 Mbps (15 days $48.99, 30 days $71.99). Saily adds 3% back in Saily credits, hotspot sharing, 24/7 live chat and an optional US phone number. (saily.com/esim-japan, 7 October 2026)

Is VAYO a good Airalo alternative for small plans?

VAYO lists 15 fixed-data Japan plans from $1.69 (500 MB / 7 days). Lowest price per size: 1 GB / 7 days $2.89, 3 GB / 15 days $6.99, 5 GB / 30 days $11.99, 10 GB / 30 days $19.99, 20 GB / 30 days $33.99. The unlimited plan costs $3.99 a day and includes 1 GB a day at high speed, then 256 Kbps until the next day. You buy with just an email address, and you can get a full refund if the eSIM has not been installed or activated within 30 days. (Live VAYO prices)

Where is VAYO weaker?

  • At 5 GB, Nomad, Saily and Airalo list a lower price than VAYO for Japan.
  • At 10 GB, Nomad, Saily and Airalo list a lower price than VAYO for Japan.
  • At 20 GB, Nomad, Saily and Airalo list a lower price than VAYO for Japan.
  • VAYO's unlimited plan gives 1 GB a day at high speed, then 256 Kbps. Nomad slows to 512 kbps after its daily allowance, and Saily allows 5 GB a day, then up to 1 Mbps.
  • VAYO has a website and an iOS app. Airalo, for example, also has an Android app.

Which one fits your trip?

  • Short city break, light use: Cheapest plan with at least 1 GB for 7 days: Airalo $8.00 (3 GB / 7 days); Nomad $4.00 (1 GB / 7 days); Saily $3.99 (1 GB / 7 days); VAYO $2.89 (1 GB / 7 days).
  • Two-week trip, about 10 GB: Cheapest plan with at least 10 GB for 14 days: Airalo $17.50 (10 GB / 15 days); Nomad $16.00 (10 GB / 30 days, on sale; $18.00 regular); Saily $17.99 (10 GB / 30 days); VAYO $19.99 (10 GB / 30 days).
  • Heavy streaming or hotspot use: Compare the unlimited plans. Holafly includes unlimited data on every plan, Airalo gives 3 GB a day at full speed and Saily 5 GB a day before slowing down.

What would a 10-day trip to Japan with about 10 GB cost?

Cheapest listed fixed plan with at least 10 GB for 10 days, and cheapest unlimited plan lasting at least 10 days. Competitors checked 7 October 2026; VAYO live.
Provider Fixed plan (10 GB+, 10 days+) Unlimited (10 days+)
Airalo $17.50 (10 GB / 15 days) $34.50 (10 days)
Holafly Not listed $36.50 (10 days)
Nomad $16.00 (10 GB / 30 days, on sale; $18.00 regular) $41.00 (14 days)
Saily $17.99 (10 GB / 30 days) $48.99 (15 days)
VAYO $19.99 (10 GB / 30 days) $39.90 (10 days)

"Not listed" or "Not stated" means it does not appear on the page we checked. It does not mean the provider can't offer it.

How did we compare these eSIMs?

We compared Japan plan prices at the same data sizes, unlimited options and how each slows after the daily high-speed allowance, phone-number options, trials, refunds and listed networks. Each competitor fact comes from that provider's own Japan page, checked on 7 October 2026 from outside Japan. VAYO prices are read live from the VAYO catalog. Prices change and vary by location and currency, so check each site before you buy. We review this page at least every 90 days.

What else do people ask about Airalo alternatives?

What is a good alternative to Airalo?

It depends on how much data you need. For Japan, Holafly sells only unlimited plans, Nomad offers a free 1 GB trial for new users, Saily allows 5 GB a day before slowing to up to 1 Mbps, and VAYO lets you buy with just an email address. The table on this page compares their prices plan by plan.

Which eSIM is cheapest for Japan?

It depends on the plan size. Lowest prices on this page: 1 GB: VAYO ($2.89 (7 days)); 10 GB: Nomad ($16.00 (30 days, on sale; $18.00 regular)); 7 days of unlimited data: Nomad ($25.00). Competitor prices were checked on 7 October 2026 and VAYO prices are live, so check each site before you buy.

Is Holafly better than Airalo for unlimited data?

They price unlimited data similarly for Japan: 7 days cost $27.50 with Holafly and $26.50 with Airalo (7 October 2026). Holafly limits hotspot sharing to 1 GB a day and includes 1 GB of monthly backup data; Airalo gives 3 GB a day at full speed, then 1 Mbps.

Which travel eSIM gives you a phone number?

Saily offers an optional US phone number for calls and texts, and Nomad says some of its eSIMs include a local number. VAYO and Holafly eSIMs are data-only, so you keep your home number on your main SIM.

Do these eSIMs offer a free trial?

Nomad offers new users a free 1 GB trial eSIM (nomadesim.com, 7 October 2026). The other providers compared here did not list a free trial on their Japan pages.

What happens when the daily high-speed data runs out?

It depends on the provider. On the Japan plans we checked, VAYO slows to 256 Kbps after 1 GB a day, Airalo to 1 Mbps after 3 GB a day, Nomad to 512 kbps after the daily allowance, and Saily to up to 1 Mbps after 5 GB a day.

Get Your eSIM